On Christmas Day, I was looking for a place to eat. I checked with the Burger King app and it said that the local store was open. However, when I went there, I found it was closed. The following is the response from Burger King.

Apologies you ran into issues with listed hours at your local Burger King! Burger King locations are closed on Christmas Day and unfortunately store hours within the app are not dynamically reflected, so we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

I saw a few big problems with this attitude.

  • If all Burger King locations were closed on Christmas, it should have been easy to have the app display that information instead of saying that the store was open. At least they should indicate that Christmas and Easter Sunday hours may be inaccurate.
  • The website indicated that Burger King stores are open on Thanksgiving, but the hours may be different. Since the app doesn’t adjust for holiday hours, that means that the hours for Thanksgiving can’t be trusted.
  • They don’t see a problem in the fact that I can’t trust their information.
  • I’m not saying that I won’t eat at Burger King in the future. But I am saying that they suffered a self-inflicted wound against their reputation.

Applications like Google Maps, Google Search, Apple Maps, and Yelp have ways of indicating holiday hours on the listings for their businesses. Listing this information will increase the trust that people have in your listing.

If you are going to be closed on a holiday, have you considered listing nearby locations that might be open on your site. If you can supply a potential customer with useful information, he is more likely to come to your business and web site in the future.

